top of page
Background.png

PRIVATE SECURITY SPECIFIED TRAINING

IRON SHIELD SOLUTIONS DPSST PRIVATE SECURITY ACADEMY

This 70 hour academy will broken into 4 sections and span over the course of 7 days. Each day Monday – Sunday will be 10 hours 0800 – 1800.

Note: The Academy can be taken as a whole or broken into parts as needed.

ACADEMY INCLUDES

DPSST Unarmed Security Course | $200

Private Security Specific Defensive Tactics | $200

Management of Aggressive Behavior | $100

Private Security Specific Medical | $200

DPSST Armed Security Course (Includes Handgun Level I ) | $300

Armed Security Firearms Training Enhancement (Handgun Level II) (Optional) | $300

DPSST UNARMED SECURITY COURSE

The DPSST Unarmed Security Course is required by the state of Oregon for all personnel who would like to work as a private security professional in the state. This course is the required 14 hours classroom lecture. $200. It is not only the first course in our DPSST Private Security Academy but also a prerequisite to the DPSST Armed Security Course. Upon successful completion of the course students will have all documentation and have fulfilled requirements to apply for their unarmed private security professional certification with the state of Oregon.

All documentation needed to apply for certification as well as a student manual will be provided to each student.

Note: 

  • Successfully completion of this course includes a passing grade of 85% on the closed book test given at the end of the course.

  • ​The class fee of $200 is paid directly to Iron Shield for the administration of the course. Optional fingerprinting done on site for an additional $20 fee..

  • A separate fee of $124.25 is needed for your certification and made payable to DPSST.
     

Optional additional is one full day period and includes Industry & Business Development/Coaching and optional  Private security Specific Defensive Tactics Course (Handcuff, Conductive Energy Weapon (CEW) & Management of Aggressive Behavior (MOAB)) for an additional $300.

REQUIRED GEAR:

- Valid State or Federally issued identification

- Notepad & Pen

DPSST ARMED SECURITY COURSE

The DPSST Armed Security Course is required by the state of Oregon for all personnel who would like to work as an Armed Private Security professional in the state. This course is 30 hours over a 3 day period and includes, 15 hours of classroom lecture as well as a 10 hours of live range instruction and coaching (Handgun Level I ) and 5 hours of Private Security Specific Medical Training. Upon successful completion of the course students will have all documentation and fulfilled requirements to apply for their armed private security professional certification with the state of Oregon.

Students will also have the option to attend a 4th day of training for Handgun Level II which adds a second day of dynamic range instruction and training as well as a federal law enforcement qualification at the end of the day. All documentation needed to apply for certification as well as a student manual will be provided to each student.

Note: 

  • Successfully completion of this course includes 
    • A passing grade of 85% on the closed book test.​
    • Passing the DPSST firearms qualification PEQ1
  • The class fee are as follows and paid directly to Iron Shield.
    • Armed Security Course: $300
    • Private Security Medical: $200 (optional)
    • Handgun Level I: Course fee included in Armed Security Course registration.
    • Handgun Level II: $300 (Optional)

A separate fee is needed for your certification and made payable to DPSST.

​REQUIRED GEAR:

- Valid state of federally issued identification

- notepad & pen

- Ear Pro

- Eye Pro

- Semi-automatic handgun (no revolvers)

- Appropriate holster

- Minimum of 2 magazines

- Appropriate magazine pouch

- Appropriate belt

- Hydration Source

- Closed Toed Shoes

- 500 rounds of pistol ammunition

 

RECOMMENDED GEAR:

- Hat/Visor

- Sun Screen

- Knee Pads


bottom of page